top of page

Healthy Happy Birthday

C.S. Lewis said, "You are never too old to se another goal or to dream a new dream."

This past year has been full of reset buttons, new goals, new dreams, and new opportunities. While those are all good things, it can be quite exhausting if you're not careful.

In the midst of all the newness, I also determined to take better care of myself. As a mom, and part of my innate personality, I am a caretaker. I put the needs of others before my own, even to a fault sometimes. So, at the beginning of this year, I took the time to schedule my workouts, quiet time, me time, work time, family time and husband time. I know, to some, that might sound like overkill...but you have to make a habit into a habit in order for it to be one, right?

Fast forward to four months later, and all these things some as easily as breathing (for the most part), and I rarely require outside motivation to do them. That is a big change for me and I am sure to give myself grace when and if I do draw outside the lines a bit in these areas.

I have always stayed on the healthier side of eating habits, and have tried to instill good choices within our three boys as well. One of those ways we encourage good choices is on the holidays--whether national or personal.

With it being my birthday this weekend, I thought it would be fun to share the recipe to one of our favorite treats.

Chocolate Superfood Melts

What You'll Need:

1/4 c raw organic cocoa butter

1c dairy-free dark chocolate chips

1/2c organic coconut oil

1/2c organic nut butter (cashew, almond, sunflower, hazelnut or peanut)

1 tsp maca

1/4 tsp organic turmeric

1 tbsp raw organic cacao powder

2 tbsp Vital Proteins Collagen Greens

1 tbsp Vega Coconut Almond protein powder

Make it Work:

Place the cocoa butter, chocolate chips, coconut oil, and nut butter in a double boiler, stirring gently until combined. Once combined, add the dry ingredients and whisk gently until fully incorporated.

Pour into a silicone chocolate and refrigerate until set. Place in a mason jar and store in the fridge.

We love these! They're packed with superfoods, antioxidants, protein and vital nutrients, and do wonders to fulfill cravings or help balance you once a month.

I make variations of these for various holidays: Lavender buds for Easter, dried berries for Valentines, and Peppermint essential oil around Christmas time. Let me know if you try them, and what variations you come up with. Enjoy!

Be Healthy. Live Beautifully.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page