top of page

Naturally Beautiful: Jane Iredale

It has been so long since I tried Jane Iredale, I knew I was due for an update. So much has changed, and their line offers so much now!

Nicknamed "The Skincare Makeup", Jane Iredale boasts to have you covered when it comes to switching to clean beauty products:

"From multitasking natural mineral makeup to healthy skin care formulas, we create clean beauty products that are as good for the skin as they are beautiful to wear. Using the highest-quality minerals available and organic ingredients when possible, our full line of hypoallergenic, cruelty-free skin care makeup is truly as nourishing for your spirit as it is for your skin."

I couldn't make up my mind, so I chose the Pure & Simple Makeup Kit. It was the perfect way to refresh my experience with the line, and to try many things at once. It included 2 shades of PurePressed Base Foundation, 2 eye shadow shades, 1 blush color, a lip + cheek stain, a mini face brush and eye shadow applicator. They were also running a deal when I purchased, which qualified me for a sample size of their Longest Lash Mascara.

I chose the Medium Light collection, and I'm wondering if I should've chose the Light collection as the blush color was too brown for me. The foundation colors both worked beautifully though--so who knows?!

I loved the soft smooth texture of the PurePressed Base Mineral Foundation! It came with the colors Amber and Radiant. Both went on evenly and provided decent coverage, without looking dusty or overdone.

The PurePressed Blush color was Sheer Honey. It was a little too dark for me, but it did work well as a contour color instead. Its a strongly pigmented blush, so a little goes a long way.

The PurePressed Eye Shadow colors were lovely! On the left is an champagne pearl base color called Oyster, and on the right is a medium-toned purple called Supernova. For those who think that purple can't be worn as a daily neutral--this kit will prove you wrong!

I loved the Just Kissed Lip+Cheek Stain in Forever Peach! If you have been following me for any length of time, you may have noticed that I have a thing for peach/coral colors. When I opened this stain, I was super excited to see the bright peachy-orange tone and was praying it showed up that way when applied!

I was not disappointed! This lip+cheek stain was a gorgeous bright peach, that was subtle initially, but buildable. I loved it alone, or under lip gloss, and it gave my cheeks a warm, natural flush. It really did look like I had been "just kissed", which reminds me of a certain favorite teen pop movie from my younger days...

The only thing I wasn't crazy about was the Longest Lash Mascara. If you have been making your way through clean-swapping your beauty products, you may have noticed mascara to be a tricky one within the green beauty world. This mascara boasts "full and feathery well-defined lashes with buildable volume". I did not find this to be the case. This mascara showed more as barely-there, and even after 3 coats of it, I was unhappy.

I am a lash girl. As in, if I was stranded on an island and could only have 3 products with me (how many times have I been asked this question?!) mascara would be one of them. In fact, your ability to see my lashes from afar, should play an active role in my imminent rescue from said island. That said, this mascara would not be accompanying me to any island getaway or otherwise. This mascara would be perfect for the girl who wants a very natural no-makeup sort of look.

Overall, I really enjoyed the Pure & Simple Makeup Kit. It was a great, affordable way to reintroduce myself to the Jane Iredale brand, without over-committing. Check it out for myself, and let me know what you liked about it!

Be Healthy. Live Beautiful.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page