top of page

Beauty Hero: Kahina Giving Beauty-Ethical and Effective

Maybe I'm as in-the-know as I thought I was, because until recently--I didn't have a clue what Beldi Soap was.

Now that I am sufficiently educated, I am also now aware of what I have been missing!

Beauty Heroes recently had a sale on previous monthly subscription boxes they had leftover. I was able to snag two of them...one of which was the 13th Beauty Discovery by Kahing Giving Beauty. This curated collection came with a full sized Moroccan Beldi Eucalyptus Soap and Kessa Mitt, plus two travel-sized Sidekicks, Essaouira Body Serum and Essaouira Perfume Oil.

If you aren't familiar with Beauty Heroes, they offer a selection of vetted green beauty greats on their site, as well as opportunity for a monthly subscription where you get a carefully curated box of full size and deluxe sample size products for only $39!

Until receiving this box, I had only tried the Argan Oil and Night Cream from Kahina Giving Beauty. Both are amazing, so I was excited to come across the brand again in the Beauty Heroes box.

Since I didn't know what Beldi Soap was, I had to do a bit of research. It is a soap/skin treatment that gained it's origin in the Moroccan hammam. It is a traditional skin softening treatment meant to replace common soap and shower gel.

"Beldi means “traditional” or “authentic” in Moroccan. The gel-like soap made from saponified olive oil acts as a body masque and is a Moroccan specialty. Women (traditionally) will pick up their serving (25 grams) of Beldi Soap from the spice shop or apothecary in the souk on their way to the hammam, carrying it with them in a plastic bag. Kahina’s Moroccan Beldi Soap is all-natural, made with pure olive oil and scented with eucalyptus essential oil."

This soap is an experience all of its own. It is a dense soap made from saponified olive oil. You have to scoop it out of the jar (using about 1 tablespoon per use) and apply directly to the skin--or use a washcloth or loofah.

It has almost a gummy texture, and my husband was watching over my shoulder with curiosity the first time I tried it. I loved that the products came with all the nerdy green beauty info a girl could want for a new-to-me product, as well as instructions for proper use:

For best results, we are guided to sit or stand in the hot shower for 5-10 minutes, before applying the soap to wet skin. Leave the soap on for up to 10 minutes to allow the skin to soften, the exfoliate in circular motions using the Kessa mit, a loofah or konjac sponge.

My skin has truly never felt so soft! There were several times after using this in the shower, that my skin felt so good I forgot to moisturize after! That's a shame too because the Essaouria (pronounced es-suh-weer-uh) Body Serum is a dream.

The name means "to beautifully design", which couldn't be more accurate. A base of argan oil combined with the nutrient-rich oils of watermelon, olive, coconut and sunflower--your skin will drink the serum up, and stay moisturized all day. The soft herby floral scent with hint of sandalwood is sure to be your favorite scent with Spring just around the corner.

The Essaouria Perfume oil is a tiny blend of the same combination of essential oils that make the Essaouria Body Serum so delicious.

"Light rose and woodsy sandalwood mingle with herbaceous geranium and lavender, accented by a bright note of petitgrain. Fresh and crisp, this blend of essential oils evokes the blue and white washed seaside village of Essaouira, Morocco." It's a light, fresh scent that I think would smell great on men and women alike.

I am so glad I gifted myself with this box! I was truly in love with everything in it, and can't wait until my next box comes!

Be Healthy. Live Beautifully.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page