top of page

Vegan Turmeric Milk

It has been a rough week, one that carried over from last week.

Ever had one of those? Where you'd love to sleep it off, if you could actually fall asleep in the first place.

This has been me. Buried in stress, nursing a broken toe, battling sinuses irritated from a mold debaucle, and raising three boys...needless to say, I can use some help unwinding most days.

I have fallen in love with turmeric milk! It is a great comforting nightcap, and is soothing if you're feeling under-the-weather, or need something warm to cozy up with--without the added caffeine. I also love this drink because of its health and beauty benefits. Turmeric is crazy nutritious! It is loaded with antioxidants and anti-inflammatory compounds, which makes it great for everyone!

Turmeric (known as a "healing spice") might be an acquired taste for some, it is bold, earthy and carries a bit of kick. I promise though, if you make it like I do--you will love it as much as I do!

Turmeric Milk is rooted in Ayurvedic medicine in Eastern cultures, and is used to aid sore throats, flu, stomachaches wounds and skin afflictions because of it's antibacterial and antimicrobial properties.

I used to have sleepovers with my grandparents on the weekends. I used to look forward to the Friday night movie with fresh popcorn, Saturday brunch, and Sunday tea. When their giant grandfather clock would keep my awake to all hours, my grandmother would always suggest warm cinnamon milk. I'ver heard since I was a kid that warm milk would help you sleep. That theory has long since been disproved, however there is some truth that warm drinks in the evening hours, do have a relaxing effect and calms the digestive tract.

As I have since learned of my dairy allergies, I use almond or coconut milk. Feel free to use your desired milk of choice.

Turmeric Milk (vegan)

What You'll Need:

2c organic Coconut milk

1 tbsp pure maple syrup, or raw local honey

1 tbsp organic unrefined coconut oil

1 tsp organic ground turmeric

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1 pinch grated fresh ginger, or 1 drop pure ginger EO

What to Do:

Pour all ingredients into a small saucepan, and stir gently to combine. Heat until you see bubbles begin, then use an immersion blender or pour into regular blender to combine. Pour into your favorite mug and sprinkle with a dash of cinnamon or nutmeg to serve. Enjoy while warm.

Have you ever had turmeric milk? Please let me know if you try this recipe (adapted from Nutrition Stripped).

Be Healthy. Live Beautifully.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page