top of page

Meet the Maker: Josh Rosebrook

I had the honor and privilege recently to interview the lovely Josh Rosebrook of Josh Rosebrook Skin and Hair Care and owner of Josh Rosebrook Salon in Beverly Hills, CA.

In a word, he is lovely! One of the sweetest, most genuine and down-to-earth people I've come in contact with in a long time. I've followed his products and progress for about a year now (and of course we are now equal social media stalkers) and had tried his shampoo by "accident" during a travel emergency. I loved it, and had to know more about Josh and his fabulous line.

How did your journey in beauty begin?

"My dad had a barber chair in the basement. My fascination with it began my passion for great hair and hair care. I built my clientele online at first, then I grew from there. I began to alter my lifestyle to a more purifying approach, and started studying health and wellness. That all opened the opportunity for skincare products."

Tell me about your salon in Beverly Hills.

"Its more of an atmosphere than your typical salon appointment. It's special, its personal, it's very tranquil. I make a point to give my clients an experience that opens their eyes to a clean approach to beauty."

Your brand is cruelty-free, why is that important to you?

"Animals are intelligent beings and should be treated respectfully. All life has purpose. I try to hold myself to a high standard and in doing so, I hope to inspire others to do the same."

My personal journey in "green beauty" has given me the mantra: "If it's not safe to eat, it's not safe to use." What is your beauty philosophy?

"I absolutely agree! Skin is the largest organ in the body--it absorbs everything in less than 30 seconds! The body knows how to heal itself, we only need to supplement it correctly. It's incredible to think about."

So you believe the toxicity of mainstream beauty products has contributed to the rise of allergies and diseases?

"If a chemical-laden product works for you, then use it! If you reach a realization that you can get better long-term results holistically, then great--let's do that! I try to stay on the side of inspiring change, not condemning a personal interpretation of "wrong". I try to help take the pressure off people who feel like they need to change everything. Instead, I choose to make a difference in self first, then live it out to inspire others to take action."

So let's talk a little about your ingredients. Are your products gluten free? Vegan?

"Yes they are! Gluten is an inflammatory. It is an unnecessary ingredient--I refuse to use it. My products are botanical and plant-based. Nature is full of resources that promote health and well-being. My personal journey of wellness has taken me on a more plant-based approach. I don't get all extreme with it, but it is how I feel best, and how I have formulated my products."

What has been your process for choosing what goes in to your remarkable products? You formulate the products yourself, correct?

"Yes, and I have had the privilege to work with an amazing natural chemist. I also spend a lot of time learning via books, doctors, medical journals, and chemists. Lots of constant learning. I grew up using essential oils and herbs--I used them constantly. There are mind-blowing capabilities of herbs and essential oils! So many benefits like: anti-inflammatory, phytonutrients, vitamins, minerals, fatty acids, amino acids, and so much more. We could be here all day!"

Your products are formulated to benefit all skin types. How does that work?

"Some products are meant for certain skin types (ie. irritated, dry, aging, oily, etc). When products are active and balancing, they can work for all skin types. My products are high in actives...anti-inflammatory and antioxidants are the most important, they allow the vitamins and nutrients to truly nourish."

Can you explain the way for us to get the best results out of your products?

"Even one item will produce for you a great result--so you can choose with freedom! There are 30 actives in the cleanser alone--it heals and repairs the skin. Ingredient spotlight: willow bark. It is a slight exfoliant and prepares the skin to receive nourishing elements of the serum and moisturizer."

What is the biggest compliment you've received from lovers of your brand?

"I love hearing, "I love my skin now!" One of the biggest compliments is that ever receive is from those who spend their hard-earned money on it, repurchase it and share it with others. There really is no bigger compliment than that! Recently though, I did hear from Marta at Truth in Aging who said, 'Its the best cleanser I've ever used!'"

Ok Josh, I have to ask...Which of your products is your personal favorite?

(inhales and laughs) "I cannot pick just one!! I truly cannot live without any one of them! But if I was forced to (ahem...) maybe my serum--its magic!! Its packed with more active extracts than anything on the market! Skin's complexion will be truly revitalized with it."

So, are there any future plans for your brand that you can share?

"I will be opening a manufacturing plant in L.A., new line in the works called Earth Elements to include a cleanser, moisturizer, serum and hydrating accelerator (a vitamin-infused botanical spritz). It's all very exciting and inspired."

For those whose curiosity can take it no longer, where can we buy the fabulous Josh Rosebrook products?

"My website of course, www.joshrosebrook.com and also www.truthinaging.com"

I have been in the beauty industry from nearly ten years now, most of that dedicated to a green beauty approach. Recently, have been afforded the opportunity to begin my own line. What advice would you give me as I enter into formulating holistic skincare?

"Be the true face of your brand. Speak the truth and live it. It has to be true to you, or it won't be fun. It's inspired, its a way of thinking/being, its a lifestyle. Don't stop learning or growing. This is my life. Be true to yourself! Surrender and allow inspiration to come!"

Josh, you are such an inspiration to me! I have enjoyed our time together-it has been truly a pleasure! One final thing before we part...what is your favorite eco-chic guilty pleasure?

(laughing) "I love eating at expensive/gourmet vegan restaurants! After years of living a pure lifestyle, I love clean eating!"

Me too! We are a gluten free/vegan household and I have become quite the foodie! Next time I am in L.A., we will definitely have to do lunch!

(laughing) "Yes, I would love that!"

I was quick to order the product that intrigued me the most: Cacao Antioxidant Mask. (because, Chocolate!) Cacao actually has incredible antioxidant properties and helps stimulate blood circulation. It is a thick mask that requires some technique to apply, and some patience to allow it to do its magic. With actives including goji berry, bladderwrack ,marshmallow root and raspberry leaf--it is magic indeed! I have disciplined myself to use it at least once a week, and my skin looks amazing! Its radiant, and feels smooth like a baby! I will likely try the cleanser and serum next.

I plan on visiting California, and when I do....Josh, I'm taking you up on lunch!

Have you tried Josh Rosebrook Skincare? What are you waiting for?

Be Healthy. Live Beautifully.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page